Baking

Leaving Cake

This is my latest cake. It was requested by a colleague on the day she was accepted for a new job. It is a simple Victoria Sponge (Mary Berry’s) recipe topped with butter icing (Mary Berry again) and a pink glittery Tinkerbelle.

WP_20150901_006

I will miss my work colleague (we’ve worked together for 7 years) but she is the most negative person I have ever met. That is why I chose to decorate the cake with a pink Tinkerbelle, one last friendly dig. She is a nice and caring person and that’s why I made the cake she wanted. It was my intention to pipe icing cream over the cake, but as I was putting some milk in to the butter icing to make it pipable my hand jerked and too much went into the mix. With a lot more mixing and icing sugar I managed to save it, kind of, it tastes nice and looks good on the cake but I won’t be winning the bake off with it anytime soon.

Marys Butter icing is made with 4oz (100g) of soft butter, 8oz (225g) sifted icing sugar, 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract. I also like to add a few drops of lemon juice, it stops the icing from being too sweat and gives it a nice crisp flavour. If the icing is going to be piped then adding a little bit of milk will make piping a lot easier and won’t detract from the flavour.

Mary Berry uses the all in one method for making her cakes, this means putting all the cake ingredients into the bowl at the same time and mixing them up with a mixer. I do use a mixer for my baking but have found the all in one method to yield lumpy results. I prefer to do it the old fashion way and cream the sugar and butter and then alternate between adding the eggs and milk. It takes a bit longer but I think it’s worth it.

How ever you want to mix them the ingredients are 8oz (225g) softened butter, 8oz (225g) caster sugar, 4 large eggs, 8oz (225g) self-raising flour, 2 level teaspoons of baking powder. The mixture should be split across 2 8in tins and baked at Gas4 for 25 mins.

Happy baking x

Leave a Reply

