Baking

Madeleines

I really fancied getting my bake on today and making French Madeleines seemed like just the thing. They are one of my fiancés favourite cakes and I like to make them for him as a thank you for looking after me, I know that when I have a bad day it makes things hard for him.

Usually when I’m baking I use my trusty Kenwood mixer but when making Madeleines I use an electric hand whisk. I have tried using Ken (my mixer) but I find that I get better results using a hand mixer. These small cakes are baked in a special Madeleine tin, this gives them a shell shape. Once again it’s a Mary Berry recipe, again I have tried others but have found hers to be the best.

To make these little delights you’ll need 50oz (150g) butter, 3 large eggs, 5oz (150g) caster sugar, 5oz (150g) self-raising flour, 1/2 tsp baking powder and the grated rind of 1 lemon. I didn’t have any lemons in the house today so I used the grated rind of a Clementine. I’ve had lemon ones before and they are nice, but now I’ve tried Clementine ones I think I will keep using them.

Pre-heat the oven to gas 7. Grease madeleine tray and dust with flour. Melt the butter and allow to cool slightly. Put eggs and sugar in a bowl and whisk until pale and thick. Sift in half the flour with the bowl with the baking powder and rind, fold in gently. Pour half the melted butter around the edge of the bowl and fold in gently. Repeat with the rest of the flour and butter. Spoon the mixture into the moulds so they are level with the tops. Bake for 8 to 10 mins. Put cakes on a cooling rack, re-dust the mould and fill with more mix. If there are any dusted but not filled moulds then wipe them over with some kitchen roll, I didn’t do that this time and it doesn’t smell very nice. Mary says this should make 30 cakes, I may have over filled my tray as I didn’t get that many

WP_20150923_004

Happy baking x

Leave a Reply

