Baking · Crochet · Personal Log

Pat your self on the back

I finally did it! I made it to work for 5 days in a row!!!! On my way into work I thought that I’d reward myself. My first thought went to buying myself some chocolate but we still have Christmas chocolate left over and in hindsight after a month of eating chocolate it’s not really a treat. On the road to my work there are lots of charity shops so I thought I’d wonder in there and see what they have to offer, I am a sucker for a tea cup and have good luck finding clothes in charity shops. On this trip I found a lovely skirt, and not only had the good feeling of having bought something nice I also had the good feeling of having given to charity.

And there it is!

WP_20160130_007

Moving on from me and onto some crochet. As promised my last make for Christmas 2015!

My last Christmas make for 2015 was for Glens nan. Glens nan is not the easiest person to buy for, like most grandparents she has everything that she needs or wants. She’s 80 odd, she smokes, watches TV, talks to the neighbours and reads Mills and Boon. So with that in mind I went onto Pintrest to see what I could make her and it had to be made in an afternoon.

In the end I went for a crochet flower book mark.

I found the instructions for the rose here http://allyandwoozle.tumblr.com/post/65608470723/crochet-flower-bookmark-flower-pattern-here While mine doesn’t look exactly like the picture on the website I am happy with the way that mine ha turned out.

Glens nan seemed to like it. We told her that it’s a book mark because it is. She has given it pride of place over her sitting room mirror, which is very nice of her but the way it hangs it looks like a whittled flower. But she likes it where it is and that’s all that matters.

Yesterday morning Glen asked me if I could make him some gooey cookies. His back is finally healed enough for him to go back to work on Monday, I thought it would be nice for him to have a treat in his lunch box. With all of that in mind I went to the book shelf to have a look at what Mary Berry had to offer and I found her recipe for double chocolate chip cookies.

Ingredients;

7 oz plain chocolate, 2 oz butter, a can of condensed milk (397g), 8 oz self raising flour and 2 1/2 oz chocolate buttons.

Melt the chocolate and butter in a bowl over simmering water. When melted add the condensed milk and take off the heat. Mix in the flour and chocolate buttons. Let the mixture cool until it is firm enough to handle. Pre-heat the oven to gas mark 4. Place large teaspoons full of mixture onto a baking tray and bake for 15 mins. According to Mary this will make 36 cookies.

We had to pop to the shops to get the milk but otherwise  had everything in the house already. Well, I didn’t have chocolate buttons I had chocolate chips. I don’t know if it was using chocolate chips and not buttons or if I put them into too early but they all melted when I added them. I didn’t really notice until I put the mix on the trays, so I got the chocolate chips out, sprinkled them on top and smushed them into the mixture. After having eaten a few of them I can confirm that putting them in on the tray didn’t make a difference to the end taste.

I only made 11 cookies from the mixture. I think they are of a pretty decent size. Hopefully there will be some left to put in Glens lunch box tomorrow.

Lastly today I would like to share this with you all. While I’ve been typing Glen has made me breakfast.

WP_20160131_001

 

Thank you for reading. I hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend x

 

Leave a Reply

