Baking · Crochet · Personal Log

A little bit of both

Today I have decided to write about some crochet and baking. I am still feeling the spring vibe and have some spring feel projects.

Lets start with the baking as it’s the most springy of the two projects. We visited friends at the weekend and seeing as Easter isn’t that far away I decided to make some Easter cakes. Usually I would make cupcakes but decided to try something a bit different this time and made American Muffins. I have made American Muffins before but this is the first time that I have used a Mary Berry recipe for them.

To make them you will need;

250g self raising flour
1 tsp baking powder
50g butter
75g caster sugar
175g plain or milk chocolate chips
2 medium eggs
1 tsp vanilla essence
250ml milk

This recipe makes 12 Muffins so get 12 cases ready in a tray and pre-heat the oven to gas mark 6. Put the flour, baking powder and butter in a bowl and rub together to make fine bread crumbs. Add the sugar and chocolate chips, give it a quick mix. Add the wet ingredients and mix together, do not over mix this mixture should be lumpy and runny. Split the mixture between the cases evenly and bake for 20-25 minuets.

Personally I didn’t get on with this recipe very well. It didn’t feel right making bread crumbs to start a cake recipe off and the perfectionist in me really wasn’t happy about the lumpy mixture. When I took them out of the oven I thought one or two looked like scones and they tasted a bit like them too.

WP_20160311_003 WP_20160311_004

They were edible and I got good feed back about them but I don’t think they are for me.

To give them a more spring/Easter feel I left out the chocolate chips and put a Cadburys Mini egg in the centre of each cake instead. And for the decoration I made up a batch of green butter icing that I piped on in swirls and finished them off with some Cadburys Mini eggs on the top.

Ta Dah!

WP_20160311_007 WP_20160311_006

WP_20160311_012 WP_20160311_010

I am very happy with the end look. I’ve not used that shaped nozzle before but I think I will use it more in the future.

And now for some crochet.

One of the ladies at work is expecting her third baby. She has always been very vocal about her love for my crochet so I decided to make her a baby blanket for number 3.

I have been given some balls of Sidar Snuggly Snowflake DK wool and I thought this would be a good project to try it out on, never having used this type of wool before. We don’t know the sex of baby 3 so I went for a mix of blue, pink and yellow to cover all bases. The blanket is a simple Granny stich blanket made it a 5mm needle.

WP_20160315_001  WP_20160314_002

This blanket is the softest thing I have every made. I will defiantly make one for my little ones, when they come along. I am glad that I decided to use this wool on a simple project, I had thought about using it to crochet some Easter eggs with but the fluffiness of the wool makes it very hard to see the individual stitches.

I am quite happy with the way the blanket looks and very impressed with the fell of the finished product, before being worked with the wool itself has an odd feel. Mum to be has seen a photo of the blanket and she says she is very happy with it. I will let you know what she says when I have given it to her.

Thank you for reading. Happy making x

Leave a Reply

