Baking · Personal Log

Birthday makes – part One

It is Glens birthday today and I have done a lot of baking to celebrate it.

He is at work today so I made him some cakes to take into the office and I am making him a cake for tonight when family come over. Tonight’s cake is in the oven as I type so I will write about that one tomorrow, today is about the cakes he took to work.

In my last post One thing at a time I wrote about a giant doughnut cake that I made for the first time and I thought that would be a good cake for Glen to take in today. I followed the same recipe as last time and learned from my ‘mistakes’ and I think it turned out a lot better this time around.

For the icing I used 200g of icing sugar, some water, food colouring and 2 drops of strawberry flavouring (in future I will just use the one drop, it’s strong stuff). I think I may have put a bit too much water in the mix, it looks ok but not perfect. Glen doesn’t like sprinkles so I used chocolate stars instead to complete the decoration.

I am very happy with it and so is Glen, I won’t know what his office thought until lunch time though.

Along with the doughnut I sent a lemon drizzle tray bake in, very simple to make and always goes down well.

WP_20160503_005

I use a Mary Berry recipe for this one, shock I know.

For the cake you will need;

  • 8oz butter
  • 8oz caster sugar
  • 10oz self-raising flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 4 large eggs
  • 4 tbsp milk
  • zest of 2 lemons

Mary uses the all in one method for this but I still prefer the old fashioned method of creaming the butter and sugar first.

Then it’s into the oven at gas mark 3 for 35 to 40 mins. The cake has a crunchy topping to it. To make that you will need;

  • 6oz granulated sugar
  • juice of 2 lemons

You simply mix the top ingredients, spoon over the sponge while it is still warm and when it is set you will have a lovely crunchy top. I have made this before and didn’t have any granulated sugar so I used caster sugar instead, it tasted ok but the topping wasn’t as crunchy and it soaked into the sponge bit more. No one else really seemed to notice, in fact they loved it, I did notice the difference though so I stick to granulated now.

That is all for today, more birthday baking to come tomorrow.

Thank you for reading. Happy baking x

 

Leave a Reply

