Baking · Personal Log

Birthday makes – Part 2

The cakes that Glen took to work yesterday went down really well, especially the giant doughnut. By the end of the day there were some pieces of the lemon cake left for the people that weren’t in the office but the doughnut was all gone!

His birthday cake for at home went down just as well. I made a madeira cake and some cupcakes. Once again I went to Mary Berry for some inspiration and guidance.

For the 7in madeira cake you will need;

  • 6oz butter
  • 6oz caster sugar
  • 8oz self-raising flour
  • 2oz ground almonds
  • 3 large eggs
  • zest of 1 lemon

I find that sometimes the lemon can be a bit over pouring, and as Glen doesn’t like lemon I thought I would make an  orange one. To give it an orange taste I used 1tsp of Orange extract. This gave it a really nice madeira cake flavour without over powering it but as I wanted to make an orange cake I put some extract in the icing. First to finish the cake. Mix you ingredients how ever you prefer and bake at gas mark 4 for 30 mins.

For the icing you will need;

  • 4oz butter
  • 8oz icing sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

That is how Mary Berry suggests you make it, I swapped the vanilla for 1 tsp of orange extract and added a splash of milk so I could pipe it. This gave a hint of orange, like the after taste of an orange smarty. Every one liked it and I am very impressed with how it came out.

To decorate start by washing the Lego that you are going to plunge into the icing. I was hoping to get the Lego Avengers to hold onto the candles but the candle spike things were too small for their hands and the candle themselves were too big, so I stabbed them into the cake by the figures in the end.

I had to cut the top off of the cake as the peek was really bad but I think it has worked really well as a background for the Avengers A.

After making that cake I was still in the baking mood and itching to use some Doctor Who cup cake cases that I got from Lakeland (currently 50p in their sale). So a batch of cup cakes was born.

For Mary Berrys cup cakes you will need;

  • 4oz butter
  • 5oz self-raising flour
  • 5oz caster sugar
  • 3 tbsp. milk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

Split the mix between 12 cases and bake at gas mark 4 for 20-25 mins.

Tomorrow I will finish this piece and let you know what I made him as gifts for his birthday.

Thank you. Happy baking x

 

 

Leave a Reply

