Cards · Crochet · Personal Log

Birthday makes – Part 3

The cake is all gone now, so that just leaves the presents and cards now.

 

As my mum (and I’m sure everyone else’s’) always says ‘start with the card’.  So that’s what I will do.  Glen love turtles, it started with the Ninja Mutant Turtles and has blossomed into a love of the real thing.  To make a change from Dr. Who and comic book heroes I decided to use a turtle for his card, as you can see.

I found a lovely picture on pintrest, got the tracing paper out and got to work.  This is the first time I have cut an image that isn’t all connected.  When I was cutting it out I was very clear in which part of the cutting that I was going to use for the card but after I had stuck it down and was looking at the left over cutting I was unsure as they both look beautiful. As you can see I decided to use them both and have one on the outside and one on the inside of the card.  To make sure that all the pieced on the outside were in the right place I put glue on the pieces that I wanted to stick and left the others without.  I put it all on the front and pealed off the pieces with out glue. Perfect!

Glen also loves ties, he has quite the collection, and on occasion likes to mix things up by wearing a bow tie.  For Christmas I was given some lovely wool that I made myself some gloves out of (more on that in another post), while I was making the gloves Glen joked and asked if I could make him a bow tie with that wool.  So off I went to Pintrest and found that I could, click here for the instructions I found.  The creator of this lovely pattered used a 3.75mm hook but I used a 4mm hook, I don’t think it made much of a difference, and we are both very pleased with the outcome.

Glen was so pleased that he wore it to work today.  If you like the look of this wool you can buy similar wool here, I will write a proper post about it soon.

Glen has tie racks to keep his tie on but nowhere to keep and display his bowtie collection, until now that is.  (the little guy in the photo is an Adipose baby you can find out more about him on my Baby fat post)

WP_20160504_006

As Doctor Who one said;

2fbea9aa39d802a43a91bc76f5e88267cd2f9206_hq

(image found on Google)

With that thought I set to work.  To keep what I was making a secret from Glen I asked my Dad to help me, he even supplied the plywood and brass knobs.  It was very simple to make.  Cut wood to size required, drill holes, sand down, paint, put together and enjoy.

I think that is all for this years birthday makes.

Thank you for reading.  Happy making x

One thought on “Birthday makes – Part 3

Leave a Reply

