Baking · Personal Log

Biscuit week

Hello luvies,

As you may be aware last week was biscuit week on the Bake Off and for their show stoppers they had to make 3D ginger bread that told a story about them.  I love eating ginger bread and have made it many times before (one of my oldest memories of my Nan was making Gingerbread Men) and ages ago a friend gave me some 3D cookie cutters, so I thought I’d give it a try.  My gingerbread make doesn’t tell a story about me but I can use it to tell a story with.

Let start with the cutters.  A friend got me these a while ago (we are talking years) and watching the Bake Off has inspired me to dig them out and give them ago.


As I said I have made Ginger bread before but this is the first time that I have used Marry Berrys recipe for them, as it’s a Bake off make I thought her recipe would be fitting.

wp_20160906_003

Unfortunately I didn’t check my cupboards before I got started and only had one tsp of ginger left.  Other recipes I have used call for other spices to be used with the ginger, so this batch has 1 tsp ginger and 1 tsp mixed spice, both Glen and I think it tasted good so it is an amendment that I would try again.  My Golden sirup was also old and had set in the tin, my rule with food is that as long as it’s not growing new food and smells ok then it is still ok to eat.  So I measured out what I needed and popped it in the microwave to turn it back to liquid, again it tastes good so no harm no fowl.  The mixture was very soft and sticky though (I’m not sure if this was because of the warm sirup, the heat of the day or if that is just how the dough is) I ended up putting the dough in the fridge for 30 mins and after cutting it in half and trying to use it I put it in the freezer for about 20 mins.  I got there in the end and the dough on the baking tray.

wp_20160906_004

As I was only making biscuits for Glen and myself, I only made four Dinos up and have put the rest of the dough in the freezer for a later bake.

As you can see the dough spread a bit during baking.

I was expecting this (and to be honest I think that’s why I’ve put off using them) so I wasn’t to upset when I ended up with two Dinos and two Dead Dinos.

What do you think?

That was the story of how there can only be on Biscasorus!
LIFE UPDATE

Work are still trying to sort out my pay, hopefully they will get that sorted by the end of the week.  A new managerial person started with us today, J will be in charge of reception and the admin team.  She seems very nice and just what we need right now (our current management team has been running a bit short and not terribly well).  We had our first meeting with her today and she asked if any of us would like anymore shifts, and we could do with the money, so I have started the ball rolling for that.

It’s the wedding in under 6 weeks time now.  Glen has paid off everything at the registry office.  I have made a good start on the flowers, I have crocheted the body of the flowers for my bouquet ready for K to sew them together for me (she’s a lot better at that than I am).  I am taking a short break from flowers (I still have the button holes to do) and make some bunting up.  I’m crocheting that too and am doing it in granny triangles, I’m nearly half way through.

Glens back is getting better, so he can move around more and sit up properly.  This has ment that we have been able to do some colouring together!  I have had colouring books for a while and got him a Dr Who one a while ago.  He seems to be really enjoying it.

I have been supper tired lately and no amount of sleep seems to be helping, and sleep is all I can think about.  I have spoken to the Dr and I am happy to report that I just have low B12 and will need to see them every 3 months for an injection to keep it ok.  I really don’t like injections but I am looking forward to this one as I know it will help me out a great deal, and that it’s not just another thing that I will have to learn to live with.

I think that it everything for this week.  Thank you for reading.  Happy biscuit making and/or eating x

One thought on “Biscuit week

Leave a Reply

