Fibromyalgia · Personal Log

Black Dog

As a follow up to my last post I thought I’d share some things that have helped Glen and I live with my depression, for any of you that might be living with or know someone that is living with depression.

The most important thing is to find someone that will listen to you.  Just being able to talk and get how you’ve been feeling out of you is such an important thing.  It doesn’t have to be a professional, just someone that will listen to you.  If you are the person doing the listening that’s all you have to do, and let the other person know that you are there for them.  Questions of ‘why do you feel that way’ don’t help, they just make things worse, as dose saying ‘everyone feels that way sometimes’.  If you really feel like you need to say anything try feeding back what the person has said to you, so they feel listened to and like you might understand a bit, ‘from what you’ve said I understand that you are feeling ……’.  This is also a much more constructive way of making the person think about how they are feeling.

A few years ago I stumbled across a book called ‘Quite the Mind’ by Matthew Johnstone.  It’s a picture booked aimed at adults to help them learn how to meditate.  It’s a lovely little book that is quick to read and easy to understand.

I gave a copy of this book to my father in law (he had a stroke over a year ago and needed some help getting some balance) anyway he also found it useful, and so has Glen for that matter.

A few years after finding this book I stumbled across this book by the same author.

It turns out that he has also suffered with depression and decided to write a book about it.   This is also a picture book for adults and it’s amazing, it really helps to put words to how depression (or black dog) can make you feel.  This book really made me feel like I’m not alone and that there is some hope that things will get better.

This book was written by Matthew Johnstone and his wife about how they have learnt to live with his depression together.  Reading this book has really helped Glen and I cope with my depression.

I could not recommend these books any higher for people living with depression in one way or another.

IMG_0550 (Edited)

Thank you for reading.  I hope this is not a post that you needed to read, but if it is I hope it was of some help x

Leave a Reply

