Gardening · Personal Log

I’m not allergic to bees!

And I’ve just learnt that the hard way!

Not what I wanted to write about, or to happen really, but it happened just before I turned my laptop on.  So I thought I’d share that with you all.

Part or the reason I called this blog ‘black berries and mint’ because they both grow wild in my garden.  A year or so ago I saw a TV program that showed me that the world of mint goes much further than spearmint or peppermint, the different types of mint are truly amazing!  And easy to get hold of.

IMG_0592

From the left I have strawberry mint, lavender mint, chocolate mint and apple mint.

And that’s only the tip of the iceberg.  So far I have got these off of a stall at my local market.  A friend of mine has seen what I’ve got and is now after some of her own, she has found a seller on ebay and the range on there is massive.

After some research into propagating mint I have found out that it is very easy, so I’m going to give it ago.  Mint really, really wants to grow and spread, it has a root system that is worse than dandelions (don’t plant it straight into the round unless you want it everywhere, forever).  In theory if you cut come mint and put it straight into the ground it should root, as this is my first time trying something like this I have cut some mint and put it in some water (this way I can see what the roots are doing or not).

IMG_0593

I have taken 3 cuttings from each plant.  I’ve taken a nice long bit off of each (mint grows so fast so it won’t make much difference to the mother plant), stripped off the lower leaves (if you have any leave in the water they will rot and it will all go manky) and put it straight into some water (the quicker you can put any cuttings into water the better).  And now we wait and see what happens, don’t worry I will keep you updated.

Thank you for reading.  I hope you have something amazing to smell in your garden, if so go and do it now!

 

 

2 thoughts on “I’m not allergic to bees!

Leave a Reply

